Growing in The Waiting

Waiting is probably the hardest thing to do, and yet, it is what God throws my way each time. Whether it’s waiting at three red lights in a row, in line at the grocery store as a seventy-something year old woman searches for that dime because she doesn’t want change, or for the two people crossing the crosswalk to realize there’s a car waiting. The antidote to my impatience is waiting.

In the waiting, growth happens. I am reminded of the song, “I will worship while I’m waiting.”  I now sing that in my head every time I wait, turning my focus from the waiting and the irritation or wondering of it, to Jesus. Writers wait for a rejection or acceptance. People wait for word on that job promotion. Others are waiting for their current storm to pass.

Enjoy the music video of that song as you wait for whatever it is you are waiting to happen. May I pray for you?

Lord Jesus, Please help us grow in the waiting. Help us to see your footprints so we know what direction to go in this crazy world, and not be lulled into complacency. In Jesus Name, Amen.

4 thoughts on “Growing in The Waiting”

  1. Nikki, I appreciate this so much. I have been slowly learning this lesson too. By the way, “Fireproof” is one of my favorite movies, and this song is my absolute favorite because, like you, it helps me remember that waiting is not an empty or wasted time.

    Like

  2. Waiting seems to be my middle name. I find myself in a season of waiting often and am in one now. But through it all, I know the Lord has a plan. “While I’m Waiting” is one of my favorite songs. It always speaks to me and like you, I find myself singing it in my mind often.

    Like

Comments are closed.