How They Do Wash #HondurasMissionsTrip2014

10339463_10202597127461655_7788378323149771497_oOur plane held many groups, some of them Christian. One girl told us about the place she served, where servants of the household did all the wash on a pila.

“I felt bad.” The girl said. “So I decided to do my own wash. It’s the Christian thing, right? But when I began scrubbing my clothes on the pila, the woman would correct me when I did it wrong, and afterwards, my arms ached.”

The camp had a pila, too, and I was grateful for my washer and dryer at home. On an outing in Honduras, we passed a shanty where a woman with thin arms scrubbed her laundry vigorously over a pila while the husband sat across from her smoking a cigarette. When I first saw the pila at the camp, I decided at that moment I would recycle my clothes throughout the week and wait to wash them at home.

But I have to say…the clothes I saw on the Honduran women looked nicer than the clothes that come out of my washer and dryer. I asked Michelle, “How do their dresses come out looking so brand new?”

The girl on the plane probably discovered there’s an art to doing wash in Honduras.

 Our lone ministry, located in the capital of Tegucigalpa, is focused on youth leader training, working with handicapped children and the development of a Christian camp for them. READ MORE

