How Long Will You Remain Sick?

“Later, Jesus met the man in the temple and told him, “You are now well. But don’t sin anymore or something worse might happen to you.” 15 The man left and told the leaders that Jesus was the one who had healed him. 16 They started making a lot of trouble for Jesus because he did things like this on the Sabbath.” – In context here.

Born

This passage in John has been on my mind for months. I am thinking of the sins in our spirit and actions that keep us “sick.” I wonder if that’s what Jesus meant when he said, “You are now well. But don’t sin anymore or something worse might happen to you.”

According to a Bible Commentary here, “Instead of answering Jesus’ question, “Do you want to be made well?” (John 5:6), he tries to explain why he can’t get healed and blames others.” He, being the man who was healed, blames others. In context with today’s culture, how many people experience the consequences of their sin and blame others or circumstances for their problems?

It’s always the job we lost, the person who was mean, or (fill in the blank). It’s never the bad decisions we made that led to the circumstances we now experience. Even my first knee-jerk reaction is to look to others or my circumstances to blame when confronted by someone. How long will I remain sick when simply acknowledging the truth will set me free from that “illness”; that, and taking the hard steps to make it right will create a better future and grow me as a person. How long will I remain sick? How long will you remain sick?

Let whatever it is that holds you back from being well go, and take the first brave steps forward to have a better future than the one you are experiencing now. What is it that makes you sick and holds you back from healing? Of course, I’m not talking physical illnesses. Though the man in John 5 was healed physically, I wonder what sin caused him to be sick. Jesus infers there was something else. Why else would he say, “You are now well. But don’t sin anymore or something worse might happen to you?”

Can I pray for you?

Dear Lord, I pray for those who are both physically sick and whose sin made them sick. I pray that this scripture reminds us that sometimes its a sickness of heart that keeps us from fully living Your purpose. May we live in your grace and remember your forgiveness. May we have faith as we walk our difficult paths. In Jesus Name, Amen.

What or who is holding you back and why?

