In The Waiting

2940016062969_p0_v1_s260x420

When waiting for a prayer to be answered, I feel eternity pressing down on my shoulders. The wait, the silence, is only broken by small glimpses of hope. I can see God working in that life–the increase of chaos and the lifting of veils–but I’m not sure if that life will see.

Psalm 38:15 says, “Lord, I wait for you; You will answer, Lord my God. (Pg. 30, My Prayer Chair by Carla McDougal; RLM).”

Third Day sang a song titled, While I’m Waiting. In it, the lyrics say:

“I will move ahead, bold and confident
Taking every step in obedience

While I’m waiting
I will serve You
While I’m waiting
I will worship
While I’m waiting
I will not faint
I’ll be running the race
Even while I wait”

Carla McDougal in, My Prayer Chair, said, “She (Corrie Ten-Boom) believe in who God was, not what He could do for her. She trusted in God’s Word twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. Her faith wasn’t based on what God was doing in her life, but in the character of God. Even in desperate circumstances, her walk with Jesus remained strong. She focused on Him, not the situation. As a result, her life example continues to encourage others, even many years after her death.”

One of the tests of discerning whether a faith is a seed not planted in shallow soil or in thorns is how well we wait and how we view God. In the waiting, I will serve Him. In the waiting, I will worship. In the waiting, I will not faint. I’ll be running this race while I wait, even if I never see the answer to my prayer.

Are you waiting for something today? And what does your waiting look like?
4 thoughts on “In The Waiting”

  1. Thank you for sharing your heart with us through this powerful post. Waiting is difficult, yet life changing. When we focus on Jesus blessings flow through the process of waiting.

    Like

Comments are closed.