Dark Chocolate Sea-Salted Toffee @incourage

IMG_3962

Before the heat of summer descended upon us making me reluctant to turn on the oven, I decided to brave making candy on that Saturday.

In the past, my attempts to make candy failed. I used the wrong ingredients or I cooked it too long. Bread and Wine author, Shauna Niequist insists the recipe for Dark Chocolate Sea-Salted Toffee doesn’t need a candy thermometer.

It’s 1 cup of butter, 2 cups of sugar, 1 cup of dark chocolate chips, and 1 teaspoon of coarse sea salt. Her descriptions on page 196 made creating this candy easy. My friends that night loved the toffee. The pop of salt, said my friend, was pleasant.

The treat was consumed over the week, but it does soften if at room temperature too long. Niequist admitted this, and when you live in Arizona, the softening point comes quickly. So store this great treat in the refrigerator when not serving it. Meanwhile, Incourage has a book club study going on right now here.

IMG_3961

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Sea-Salted Toffee @incourage”

Comments are closed.