My Prayer Car

“As for me, far be it from me that I should sin against the Lord by failing to pray for you. And I will teach you the way that is good and right. But be sure to fear the Lord and serve Him faithfully with all your heart; consider what great things He has done for you.” – 1 Samuel 12:23-24

2940016062969_p0_v1_s260x420In My Prayer Chair by Carla McDougal, she prayed in her car. “Between a red light and a green light, in less than three minutes,” a prayer she prayed was answered. A woman approached her car and Carla prayed for and with her, even donated to her ministry to help others recover from drug addiction. At the end of this chapter, called, My Prayer Closet, she asks, “Do you use your car as a prayer closet?”

Some friends of mine have actual prayer closets. It’s a place dedicated to spending time with God. I, and apparently, Carla, have prayer cars. When I leave my driveway I ask God to protect the house, the dog and the cat, my husband, me and my writing. I also talk to him like I am talking to you now. A near-miss taught me the importance of this prayer.

A couple of years ago, I pulled out of my driveway and something nudged me to pray that prayer. So I prayed it and drove to work as usual. At Highway 89 and Willow Creek Road, traffic becomes unpredictable. For some reason, traffic builds up fast. It’s our mini-rush hour. We live in a small town and our rush hour lasts five minutes, but five minutes can cause a wreck.

I slammed on my breaks, my car weaved a bit, and I stopped, but the large, black SUV was heading toward me like a bullet. I pressed down firmly on the brakes and tightened my grip on the steering wheel as I braced for a hit. I prayed, then, too. She fish-tailed and swerved at the last minute into the shoulder next to me. In that moment, I knew God was protecting my car. Since that day, I have not left the house without praying. Prayer is powerful.

I like what Carla said, “‘Lord, I don’t want to miss a moment with You. What do you have planned? I can’t wait to find out!’ Be ready. Be willing. Be watchful!”

Do you use your car as a prayer car? What answers have you gotten?

9 thoughts on “My Prayer Car”

      1. Christian movement here is in large number,and vision is to have many cars which will carrying prayer members,morning when people going to their work places,markets,offices etc and everywhere prayer will be doing in order to see the kingdom of God is upon the country all the time,also the cars will be using in gospel activities.amen.

        Date: Sun, 28 Jul 2013 21:02:20 +0000 To: brownanderson@hotmail.com

        Like

Comments are closed.