Book Review: Bread and Wine (Part II)

9780310598886

A Love Letter to Life Around the Table with Recipes

More than that, I am a bread-and-wine person. By that I mean that I’m a Christian, a person of the body and blood, a person of food and drink, and also, at the very same time, I recognize them as something much greater—mystery and tradition and symbol. Bread is bread, and wine is wine, but bread-and-wine is another thing entirely. The two together are the sacred and the material at once, the heaven and earth, the divine and the daily.” – Pg. 11, Bread and Wine, Shauna Niequist; Zondervan

Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist makes you wish she lived next door to you.

Niequist writes a combination cookbook and blog-like chapters, filled with warmth and love for her friends, husband, and you and me. Included in most chapters are recipes. I have tried two so far–the Bacon-Wrapped Dates and Goat Cheese and the Blueberry Crisp.

IMG_3946
This was before baking.

The Blueberry Crisp (pictured above) was altered. I used blueberries and strawberries. Also, nuts were omitted. Almond Meal costs nearly $10 a bag and so I substituted flour. The result wasn’t what I liked. It wasn’t sweet enough. So I grabbed a handful of brown sugar which made it perfect. I probably won’t make it again. Her other recipe was a risk.

IMG_3947 IMG_3948

Bacon-Wrapped Dates with Goat Cheese (pictured above) was a surprising treat. My husband hated it. I couldn’t stop eating them. When you bite into them, you don’t really detect the dates. I used dried dates and not fresh. The dates added a light touch of sweetness to the savory. The goat cheese didn’t stand out strong, but became subtle as it baked. I used thick-cut gourmet apple-smoked bacon in this recipe. I tried to persuade my co-workers to try the recipe, but they were making all sorts of faces at me. My husband says, “Dessert and meat do not go together.” It’s another snack recipe that I don’t have to share, like avocados.

Overall, I loved this book. Like any recipe book, you will always have your winners and losers. Having only tried two recipes so far in this book (later in the week, I plan on making the goat-cheese biscuits), the Blueberry Crisp was definitely the loser. Most of her recipes are gluten-free or altered to fit her particular diet. I gave this book four stars.

*Book given by publisher to review. You can read Part I on the review here.

One thought on “Book Review: Bread and Wine (Part II)”

Comments are closed.