The Road to Honduras

hon3

The road to Honduras began with writing Compassion letters to a child in India, becoming a prayer warrior to a family in India, and reading bloggers like Dan King when he went to Haiti or Nik Ripken’s accounts as he traveled the world. It piqued my interest in missions and now my husband and I are going on our first short-term missions trip in May, 2014. I don’t know what to expect.

Our church, FBC Prescott, has approved the trip. It will be a construction trip. We will be helping missionary, Michelle Crotts, in Honduras.

Honduras, a country of about 8 million is one of the poorest in the Americas.  It has many slums, dysfunctional families and, like all Latin countries, its fair share of drug addiction, gangs, violence and prostitution.  Gangs in particular have been a serious problem, but in recent years the police have imprisoned many gang members and reduced their influence.  Honduras also is prone to hurricanes, which usually ravage the coastal areas.

Our lone ministry, located in the capital of Tegucigalpa, is focused on youth leader training, working with handicapped children and the development of a Christian camp for them. (From here).

But I need your help to make this happen. My husband and I have to raise 100% of our support which is $1700 each. I would also like to raise a couple of hundred extra to help out a Honduras family. I have several fundraisers planned, but if you would like to make a donation, you can make the check out to FBC Prescott. Write on the memo line: Tony and Nikole Hahn. Please mail it to: P.O. Box 3175, Chino Valley, AZ 86323. Or, if you live locally, you can drop off the check to I or Tony personally. All donations are tax deductible.

I am also doing a community garage sale on July 20 and could use any donated items for it. On June 24, I am holding a Scentsy Party through Susan Gunn. You can also order online if you live too far away to attend in person. That information will appear on another blog post. For all Honduras posts, you can look under Catagories and Missions. This trip will be our very first short term missions and we need your help to make it happen.

Thank you in advance for your generosity.

Tony and Nikki

