The Warmth We Take For Granted

DSC02034

When I wrote this, ice glittered under the onslaught of cold sunshine. A fog bank hid some of the mountains in the distance and I pushed my afghan close around my body as I read. It’s when I recalled my prayers for Pastor Ratnakumar in India and the warmth we take for granted.

He’s a pastor ministering to orphans and older people. A month or so ago he asked for prayer to get 200 Bibles. Last week, he said he needed blankets. Because God provided some extra money this week, we are using our ten percent to send money to him. A Google app helped me break down U.S. Dollars compared to INR.

Pastor Ratnakumar needs 30 blankets. In India, each blanket costs approximately 300 INR (roughly $5.50, I think in US Dollars). If you do send money or a blanket, I have his address. I would send money via Moneygram or Western Union. If you know how to knit or crochet or quilt, I might suggest sending a homemade blanket if the air mail isn’t too costly, but keep in mind there are also duty added to the cost of mailing something to India. If you would like to help him, please email me for the address: nikolehahn@thehahnhuntinglodge.com.

In America, we talk about the poor, but our poor cannot compare to the poor in other countries. In our country, we have charities and churches who provide for those who cannot or will not work and those struggling to find work. Even our government provides money to people. One homeless man I observed owned a smart phone. In India, they have unofficially a caste system where those that don’t fit in are left to starve. So as we wrap even our worst coats around us to ward off winter’s chill, remember Pastor Ratnakumar in your prayers.  We’ve been corresponding for several months and I’ve been praying for him and his ministry.

When I think of the word for the year as chosen by Bonnie over at Faith Barista, I think of Pastor Ratnakumar who is beloved by God in what God has enabled him to do for his people.

How do you take what you have for granted?

6 thoughts on “The Warmth We Take For Granted”

  1. What a beautiful, practical way to send the love of a savior across the world–blankets to warm and protect and comfort. Thank you for your willingness to give of your own resources so generously to help “the least of these.” Jesus is smiling on you, Sister. And thank you for the reminder to be grateful, to really see how much we have been blessed, and to use what we’ve been given to help those who are in need. Grace to you!

    Like

  2. I think we all take what we have for granted at one time or another. Years ago we lived in the Philippines for two years. Coming back we were stunned at the amount of access around us. We have no idea truly how much we have and how little we need . Stopping over from Bonnie’s. God bless.

    Like

    1. That’s a good introduction for Bonnie’s word next week: Clutter. I don’t hear other countries have hoarding issues; just Americans. Great to have you stop by!

      Like

  3. Yes, we live in a country where it’s easy to take comfort for granted. I look at 16 flavors of tea and decide that none of them sounds good, rather than appreciating the tea at all. I’ve learned, though, that people here can be poor without showing it. We have friends from church who don’t have enough money for food, but you’d never know it. They are blessed with comfortable homes, but I can’t imagine how it would feel not to be able to feed my family.

    Like

    1. Our pastor once said he looked into his pantry and said, “There’s nothing to eat.” What he meant was, “There’s nothing I want to eat.” The country where my compassion child is growing up in has fish and rice and some of his neighbors live in mud houses. He lives in a brick house. Both his parents work, unlike here where depending on finances a mom could stay home with her child. We take a lot for granted in this country. We have food pantries, charities, etc, but there they do not. They help each other out of the little they all ready have.

      Like

Comments are closed.