Why I Don’t Write Writers Blogs

Hand in hand
Hand in hand (Photo credit: Images by John ‘K’)

Many blogs crowd the internet talking about writing. I made a decision years ago that I would avoid talking about writing unless necessary.

Too many sites talk about writing all ready. Some of them are qualified. Others are not qualified. I do my own research through agent and publisher blogs. A smattering of authors are in there, too. What makes those authors an expert in my opinion are the books they have sold over the years.

The few self-published authors I follow are great at social networking, but since my interest is in independent and traditionally published companies I keep abreast of the publishing world with the people who have the experience in it. I subscribe to Publishers Weekly and Writers Digest. I also don’t write about writing because I feel my qualifications are lacking.

I can tell you what I have learned, but you can find this same information through diligent research. I have completed one novel and am in the midst of deciding whether to continue into book 2 or write another, separate one so I have two products to market. I have never published a novel. My resume is long with publications in small presses. I ghost blog to bring in extra money.

Writing online is about creating community. That’s also why I don’t blog about writing much.

Mike Duran said in Are Writers Too Insulated From Their Readers?, “So while we debate whether an author should blog or how much to “show v. tell,”, our real audience could care less. We get lost in feverish discussions about self-publishing vs. traditional publishing, but our potential readers couldn’t give a rip. We argue “the rules,” but the general public has no idea what rules we’re talking about. We strive to make a name for ourselves in the publishing community, but “because we’re in it, and we care about it, we incorrectly assume that because writers know who I am, readers must as well.”

I love my writer friends, but also my reader friends. I love reviewing books as a writer and reader. Like twins, you can’t separate the two. With so many self-published authors trying to fluff reviews and play with their amazon ratings, I am on the side of the reader.

Like you, I can’t afford to buy much. So when I buy a book I examine the cover and the narrative on the back. Then, I read the bad reviews before I get into the good reviews. I want to know if the money and time I am investing will be worth it. And because my blog is about creating community, I want to talk about living in this world as a Christian and the inward struggles I face everyday. Then, I want to hear from my readers. I want to know what to pray for as they struggle.

With so many blogs talking about writing, the left and right politics of self-publish versus traditional, and the ever-changing publishing world, the internet doesn’t need one more writing blog.

What are your favorite writing blogs? What do you look for in a blog?

