Betrayal (A Kay Arthur Study Review)

This is an ongoing study-review of Kay Arthur’s, Breaking Free From Fear. The book was given by the publisher to review. Read other parts of this series here.

Week 1/Day 3

Read Psalm 56:1-4, 8-13

Kay Arthur said, “Life wasn’t easy for David, the man anointed by Samuel as the next king of Israel. While attempting to escape from jealous King Saul, who wanted to kill him, David was seized by the Philistines in Gath. David wrote Psalm 56 during this difficult situation.”

In remembering my Bible reading on David’s life, a man he revered as a father-figure wanted David dead. Saul pursued David, if memory serves, until Saul’s death. David probably struggled with the anguish of someone he loved chasing him, betraying him. David even had an opportunity to end the struggle when in the cave he could have killed Saul.

Not killing Saul prolonged the struggle, but glorified God. I think of David when fear comes upon me, and then, I think of how God used everything in my life and how He was glorified in it. David knew God loved him. He sings in the psalm of God’s protection and my favorite line reads in Psalm 56:8, “You have taken account of my wanderings; put my tears in Your bottle. Are they not in Your book?”

God redeems pain. God also expects us to be obedient like any good Father. I know in my life I have seen Him protect me in so many ways; more than I deserved. I should have expected it, but it left me with mouth wide open in wondrous joy that He had acted so supernaturally. I remember those moments when fear comes upon me and I have peace because I know God loves me.

Hard times are inevitable, but God’s love flows like living water. So today I render thank offerings to God and hope I please Him, not because any works or words can save me (only Christ’s Salvation makes that possible), but because I love Him. His love is perfect.

I am not a good daughter, but one who tries because of the love and gratefulness flowing daily from my heart.

What are you grateful for today?

3 thoughts on “Betrayal (A Kay Arthur Study Review)”

  1. Hi,
    I just posted Kay’s book today on my website. Obviously you and I have much in comman…and appreciate Kay’s contribution to teaching inductive bible study. What a soldier of the Lord. I still need to sit at her feet after many many years of teaching.
    Blessings,
    Glenda Mills

    Like

Comments are closed.