Love Letters Only

Mailboxes

Why do you spend your money for that which is not bread, and your labor for that which does not satisfy? Listen diligently to me, and eat what is good, and delight yourselves in rich food. – Isaiah 55:2, ESV

The mail box said, “Love Letter’s Only.”

I looked at the house. The neglected lawn was a patchwork of yellows, browns and greens with sprigs of weeds trembling in the summer breeze. The chain link fence sagged in places. The house needed new paint. That was several months ago.

Now the leaves are changing colors. I can’t find that mail box, but I think I found the house. A for sale sign was propped against the house on the porch. I wondered how many late notices the person received before he had to sell his house. I wondered how many tears he cried as he listened to the creditors call and leave messages on his machine. I wondered how many cans of beans he consumed for the lack of money to fill his pantry. Did anyone tell him about our Reach Out program at church?

No one told me. I lived on pride and refried beans. Tears soaked my pillow as I avoided the creditor calls. I felt that I had no one to turn to for help. My debt accumulated because I needed the Father, and instead, tried to fill that emotional vacancy with everything the world offered in lust and materialism. Maybe that’s why that mail box attracted my attention?

Love Letter’s Only, it read. I laughed. Then, sobered at the thought of someone living in the house with a mailbox full of bills and no emotional support; no one praying for them; no one to come alongside and say, “I understand, and let me help you learn how to fish.”

Dear Lord, I pray for the hearts of others with holes in their souls.  In Jesus Name, Amen

2 thoughts on “Love Letters Only”

Comments are closed.