Take Courage (A Kay Arthur Study Review)

Week 1/Day 2

Read Matthew 14:24-33

Read the prior study review here.

But immediately Jesus spoke to them saying, “Take courage, it is I; do not be afraid.” – Matthew 14:27

Fear was discussed in Matthew 14, verses 26 and 30 when the disciples were scared during the storm on the Sea of Galilee. They saw Jesus walking toward them on the waves and thought it was a ghost. Peter asked to walk on water and would have been successful had he not taken his eyes off of Jesus, letting fear and doubt sink him like an anchor falling into the sea. That hasn’t changed in human nature.

I took my eyes off of Jesus in the storms and always sank. Only later did I learn to keep my eyes trained on Him. For the most part, I am successful in that, but in some cases, the old fear wants to bind me silent. It wants to rule in place of this new courage. I don’t let it, but it doesn’t mean I don’t feel it.

Courage looks like many people. It’s those that stand up to abuse and manipulative people; it’s someone who lost a spouse and has to move on alone; it’s the man whose wife has Alzheimers; it’s the woman with cancer; it’s the daughter who loses her mother, her best friend to death; it’s a man who stands up for someone even at great personal cost; it’s the missionary who goes to a country hostile to Christianity where bombs explode and life isn’t taken for granted because it could end tomorrow; it’s someone who stands against the tide, knowing the fight will be a lonely one; it’s the wife whose husband cheated on her, but works to restore the marriage anyway; someone who walks away from something they know is wrong; and it’s someone who tells the truth even if the truth damages her reputation.

What does courage look like to you?

