Don’t Retire The Pen

Writer's Block 1
Writer’s Block 1 (Photo credit: OkayCityNate)

A writer’s life can be both great and discouraging.

I’ve been doing this a long time, but I only found the freedom to use my voice a few years ago and took the social networking thing seriously. It’s difficult to submit and recieve yet another rejection. But when you get an acceptance the sun comes out again.

“The First Frost,” was accepted for publication in The Wordsmith Journal, an ezine for their August issue.

Don’t retire the pen or take short cuts in your writers journey. Don’t get impatient because your career isn’t moving as fast as you’d like. Trust God with your calling, because that’s what it is–a calling. People who write often say, “I want to write, not social network.”

Don’t look at social networking that way. When you blog, you are your own publisher and can create a ministry online to bring stories to other people’s lives. In the inbetween of submitting and recieving rejections, in the waiting, we grow as we write posts, talk to others online, and write our stories. Nothing suffers in the waiting except our pride.

“Did you write a book?” They always ask, and for a moment we forget why we are writing, that it is a calling, and it becomes about the name on the front cover. Our chest puffs out and we feel the increasing pressure to get that novel or book to a publisher quick. Afterall, we want to appear successful.

Success is in the eye of the beholder. If you read stories of other people’s successes, you’d find they persisted and in the waiting grew as a writer. Their voice matured. You’d also find their odds were astronmical to gain that success as if the chance was a gift from heaven opened at the right moment. My career is in God’s hands, and while I persist I am going to let the waiting teach me about putting away my pride, diluting my sense of competition, and focus on the only thing that matters–living well; not perfectly, but well.

So thank you, Lord, for guiding my career, whatever may come of it.

What is the waiting teaching you as a writer?

