AM I CRAZY?

from Tough Mudder Website

On Sunday, February 24, I will be one of the participants of Wounded Warriors “Tough Mudder.” It’s a 10-12 mile marathon with booby traps. My husband will be coming along as moral support. Several people have asked me if I was crazy. My husband thinks I’m taking this too lightly. Here’s how I see it.

Since 2009 I have lost 45 pounds and I have been plateauing the last several months. I thought I had broken the plateau, but then I had some bad weeks where I plateaued some more. My stamina has improved and I now hike more difficult climbs and go for much longer distances. I’m not crazy about running, but Tough Mudder is different.

You pledge to help others finish. You aren’t timed except for all practical purposes to make sure that you are at your halfway mark by the time printed on your card. The course is designed by British Special Forces and it’s difficult. I wanted to do it to say I did and to finish by not skipping any of the obstacles because they are too hard or they scare me. My life now is all about overcoming fear and forging ahead in spite of it. If I fall, I go forward anyway, like my life verse.

2 Corinthians 12:1-10 reads:

“I must go on boasting. Although there is nothing to be gained, I will go on to visions and revelations from the Lord. I know a man in Christ who fourteen years ago was caught up to the third heaven. Whether it was in the body or out of the body I do not know—God knows. And I know that this man—whether in the body or apart from the body I do not know, but God knows— was caught up to paradise and heard inexpressible things, things that no one is permitted to tell. I will boast about a man like that, but I will not boast about myself, except about my weaknesses. Even if I should choose to boast, I would not be a fool, because I would be speaking the truth. But I refrain, so no one will think more of me than is warranted by what I do or say, or because of these surpassingly great revelations. Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. ” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

Tough Mudder is the perfect illustration for this verse. There are so many daunting obstacles. I can’t get over some of them without help. Like in life, God is there with hand outstretched and I want Him to be glorified in my life. If I live the perfect Christian, appearing to do all the right things to illustrate perfect Christianity, then I am living a lie and making me my own god. I want to live right and make good decisions, but if I mess up, I simply go to Him in repentance.

Because I am a forgiven sinner. He died on the cross for me and you.

So occasionally on my blog I’ll post humorous training videos leading up to “Tough Mudder 2013.” My husband’s sadistic side is coming out and he’s almost too gleeful to put me through some tough courses on Sunday afternoons beginning in September. I hope that you will pray for me. I don’t go to this lightly as I know some of those obstacles will scare me. In one obstacle I will have to run through dangling live wires and might get zapped with 10,000 volts of electricity. My stomach will flip as I stand fifteen plus feet in the air and jump into a pool of water. I’ll yearn for hot coffee after jumping into a trencher of ice cubes and water. I know in my mind I’ll stand before an obstacle and think, “I can’t do it. I can’t do it.”

With God anything is possible and there have been many times in life when I have said, “God, I can’t do it.” With Him, I can. I’ll prove it next year at Tough Mudder.

When have you said, “God, I can’t do this?”

