Have You ‘Snapped?’

Anger Controlls Him

Anger Controlls Him (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Every person should watch, ‘Snapped.’ It’s gruesome, dark, but educational.

The Bible says in Matthew 5:21-22, ““You have heard that it was said to the people long ago, ‘You shall not murder, and anyone who murders will be subject to judgment.’ But I tell you that anyone who is angry with a brother or sister will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to a brother or sister, ‘Raca,’ is answerable to the court. And anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell.”” (NIV; BibleGateway.com).

If anger is nurtured long enough like some of the obsessive people convicted on ‘Snapped,’ it can lead a person to violence. That’s why we are encouraged to forgive our enemy. It’s not healthy to remain angry with anyone. It’s not healthy to obsessively follow someone, looking for fault.

‘Snapped’ has many episodes of true life events where people allowed their anger to direct their actions, and there are other examples. In fact, I reviewed a book by Carol Kent called, “Between A Rock and A Grace Place.” In it, she speaks about her son Jason who allowed his anger to eventually direct him to take a shotgun to the natural father of his two stepdaughters. Jason believed he was protecting them from abuse. Imprisonment changed his life and even after being denied clemency again, Carol says, “J.P. was totally at peace as he said, “Mom and Dad, if God chooses to allow me to walk in freedom in this lifetime, it won’t be because I received the favor of well-connected politicians and attorneys. It will be because God moved in the hearts of decision makers in a miraculous way. I am content with that. My heart hurts for the family of the deceased and I hope that someday they will be able to forgive me.”

I spent my childhood angry, and it took me half a lifetime to own the anger and give it to God. I’m still healing, but I’d rather heal than live in anger again. Anger influenced my decisions and because of anger I neglected everything and everyone in my life. I made my decisions based on anger; few were good decisions. ‘Snapped’ is the illustration of anger and obsession in action. There’s a reason God puts so much emphasis on love. So I pray daily for my enemies with all of my heart, pouring on them my love, and wishing the very best for them in their lives. The next time you get angry, think of the cross and what that means in how we forgive others. That’s always in the back of my mind.

Is your anger helping your situation or causing emotional harm?

How can I pray for you?

He chose to give us birth through the word of truth, that we might be a kind of firstfruits of all he created. My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry, because human anger does not produce the righteousness that God desires. – James 1:18-20

