Reading It in a Year…Um…HELP!

Circumstances put me far behind in my “Reading The Bible in a Year.” I was keeping up with it and enjoying the quiet time with God until distractions caused me to have piecemeal time with God instead. It’s not that I don’t talk to Him unless I have the Bible in hand, but reading scripture quiets the mind and soul as I sit and wait for Him to speak. Like in friendships, I don’t always want to be the one doing all the talking and sharing.

So tell me, friends, when do you read the bible? How does your talking measure up to your listening when spending time with Him?

7 thoughts on “Reading It in a Year…Um…HELP!”

  1. Since 1989 when I returned to the Lord after walking away for a few years, He had shown me that He would be found by me when I searched for Him with all my heart (Jer. 29), and so I began rising earlier than normal, getting my coffee and sitting with Him for a couple of hours before starting my day. I didn’t use any reading plan, just sat, read a chapter from the OT, one from Psalms and one from the NT asking Him to speak into my life what I had read. He did. He showed me that His word is truly living (alive) and active (energizing) and sharper than a two-edged sword and that it has power when I speak it out loud as prayer. To this day, I continue to read through the Bible in this way, not in a race or contest to see if I can do it in a year, but sitting with Him as my teacher which means if I only read a couple of verses and He says “stop, I have something to teach you here” I let Him teach me. It is the most valuable part of my day. I fell in love with Him.

    Like

  2. I know the feeling, but I try to read at night.When everyone is sleeping and I can have my quiet moment…and thats when I try to listen more than speak..but its not always easy….

    Like

  3. Hi Nikole,
    Thanks for sharing this.
    I do my Bible reading in morning. If I don’t, other distractions will get in the way. I probably talk more than listen in my prayer time. Reading the Bible forces me to be quiet and listen. Not just to the words on the page, but to Him using that wuiet time to speak to my heart as well.
    Blessings.

    Like

Comments are closed.