Book Review and Giveaway: Love Lifted Me

This book was like,“Facing the Giants” with southern spice. Jade and Max had a rough beginning to their marriage. He cheated and out of that union came Asa, a son. After Asa’s mother died, Jade took in the little boy like her own showing love and faith, struggling against fears and an old habit of running away from things and situations.

Max goes to work in Texas as part of his rehabilitation after getting confronted with his prescription drug addiction. After months of being clean and working with boys from broken pasts play football, he returns to his life in Tennessee. Jade and Max begin to work on their marriage and what it means to have faith in God in a whole new way, challenged also by the calling to return to Texas and coach a high school football team. Southern secrets threaten to break his “hip-pocket” dream of coaching football instead of being a high powered attorney.

My favorite part of this book was when Jade and Max sat out on the front porch, talking like in the old days, and when Max declared that if she wasn’t on board with moving away from everything familiar that he would stay and make the best of life in Tennessee. Rachel Hauck and Sara Evans did a great job in putting together this story. While there are similarities to “Facing The Giants,” Hauck and Evans twist and turn the story in their own unique way.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book and impatiently got to the end; not because it was bad, but because all the plot twists and turns kept me hooked. I gave this book four stars. If Goodreads allowed it, I would give it four and a half, but four stars is a great score.

I am also giving this book away. If you leave a comment on this blog post between January 9-12, I will draw names on January 13 and announce the winner. The book will be mailed the following week. Book given by publisher to review. January 13, 2012: The name drawn was for “Master’s Touch Herbs.” You need to contact me with a name and address. I’ll mail it next friday. Congrats!

I review for BookSneeze®

10 thoughts on “Book Review and Giveaway: Love Lifted Me”

  1. I know what you mean by “impatiently” wanting to get to the end. Great review, I love Facing the Giants and the other two books in this series, so I’m excited. 🙂

    Like

  2. I didn’t know Sara Evans was a writer. Sounds like an interesting story and something my middle daughter would like to read. I’ll recommend it to her as she’s always looking for something new.

    Like

Comments are closed.