Why Bother?

There are so many things we do not know. We do not know if the economy will dip or if our team will win. We do not know what our spouse is thinking or how our kids will turn out. We don‘t even know “what we ought to pray” (Rom. 8:26). But according to the apostle Paul, we can be absolutely certain about one thing. We know …

“…that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” – Max Lucado’s Christmas Newsletter

If the ‘Why Bother’ attitude comes calling, remember the above words and focus on that. I tell this to myself when I feel it coming on like a dark cloud that promises death and destruction. God bothers, and that’s why I should bother because God, ‘works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.’ Many times when I feel alone in something I have to re-focus upward instead of at my tired feet. God is doing something in my life and that’s why I bother.

So occasionally forgive me if I stop in my race, rest my hands on my knees, and breathe hard. I’m not quitting. I’m resting. I’m working on my endurance. I’ll be running again because God has planted something in me that just won’t quit.

When have you exhibited this attitude? And how do you recover?

