The Chronicles of Church Fellowship: God Speaks

by Elissa Hill

Upon hearing a powerful message from a missionary, I had taken the step to ask God to direct my time as He sees fit.  Considering that all our time belongs to God, why not ask Him where He wants it, rather than use it where I want it.

So with this in mind I attended the weekly Tuesday night Bible Study at the church, as I had normally done. After the study I got in my car, started the engine, and began to drive away. All of a sudden the Lord burdened my heart. To my surprise there was a young lady sitting all alone on one of the benches at the church. I had never met the gal and the Lord said in his still small voice, “Elissa stop and talk to her.”

So I pulled the car around, re-parked it, and began to approach the women. I then introduced myself and began to make conversation. The women didn’t seem to know the Lord so I invited her to church, talked to her about God, and gave her my testimony. But to my surprise, God didn’t give me anything specific to tell her. Which is rather confusing considering He did tell me to talk to her. After chatting with her for about 15 minutes, her boyfriend arrived.

So I prayed with them and left. As I was leaving I thought to myself, “Lord what was the purpose of that? She really didn’t want to talk and kind of pushed away.”

Then the Lord spoke again to my heart, “Elissa, I asked you to do that to delay you for something else I want you to do.”

I thought for a moment, “Lord? Really what do you want me to do?

He then said, “On your way home, you are going to see a woman downtown, by herself, on the side of the road. When you see her, park the car and tell her I love her.” (Now it was not an audible voice, but it was at the heart level and clear enough that I understood every word.)

The first thing that came to my mind sadly was, “Lord? Is there really going to be someone all by themselves at 9:00 on a Tuesday night? Okay Lord, if I see her I’ll stop.” Then it hit me like a ton of bricks… ‘if I see her’…Oh what doubt I had, but thank you Lord you are merciful! As I continued driving I began to pass through downtown Prescott and had almost made it out without seeing anybody. Then it happened, as I hit the edge of town there stood a women all by herself, just as God had said.

Then I heard in the very depth of my soul, “That’s her.” I said, “But Lord she’s on the wrong side of the road.” Okay, I could have had better words to say to the Lord considering he was about to use me for something big, but yet here I was telling God it was not convenient. None the less, I was bound by my promise to stop if I saw her. So I parked the car, got out, took a deep breath, and started approaching the woman. As I walked I noticed she was about my age, pretty, didn’t seem like a crazy person (Thank you Lord), and well she looked like someone I’d hang out with. So with a few more steps I was there. 

“Breath” I muttered under my breath. Then I said to her, “Hi”, and she responded with a quick “Hi” back.

I said, “I know you don’t know me and this is going to sound a little strange, but I have a message for you from the Lord.”

Rather perplexed, but listening intently she says, “Okay?”

So I continued, “You see, the Lord told me you would be standing here tonight. He said I would see a women on the side of the road all alone, and that when I saw her I needed to stop the car and deliver a message to her.”

She then zoned in on what I was saying. So I continued, “God wanted me to tell you…well..to tell you… that He loves You.” The next seven seconds were pure silence, as I stood in frozen fear not knowing what was going to happen next. Then the most miraculous thing happened.

The women broke into a spring of tears. She seemed to be letting go of so much all at once. Her eyes were filled with joy and there was a new found light in her like none other. So I reached out my hand ever so slightly and hugged her. She responded with open arms and a very tight squeeze in return, she didn’t seem to want to let go, and neither did I.

Then she spoke, “Less than an hour ago, I was on the phone with my mom telling her that God doesn’t care about me anymore. You see I was a believer 10 years ago and completely turned my back on God. It was only last week that I rededicated my life to Him. But I was having doubts about the whole thing and wanted to give up because God didn’t seem to care. Then here you come. With a message from Him.”

I couldn’t help but hug her again, however this time tears were streaming down both our faces. And she continued, “Thank you for being obedient and listening to God, I really, really needed to here that… more than you know.”  I then found out she was from the Phoenix area and that she was only visiting to escape the heat. So I recommended a few churches I knew in the area, prayed with my new sister in Christ, and then parted ways. God is good! What I would like to leave you with is that when you make yourself available to God, he can use you in so many ways. Don’t let your preoccupation with your schedule interfere with what God has for you.

Elissa Hill attends the Heights Church and blogs here. If you would like to contribute to Friday’s The Chronicles of Church Fellowship, please click here for guidelines.

