The Recital

Violin and bow.
Image via Wikipedia

My half-sister and I walked into ASU’s impressive hall. My half-brother had a violin recital. My mother followed us like a mother hen. A few people dotted the chairs and a deep silence nearly swallowed us.

We sat down in our seats with stern instructions from mom to be serious as if I, an adult, and my half-sister, a kid, needed to be told how to act in public. The recital would begin in less than thirty minutes. I looked at the domed ceiling and wondered how long this recital would last, resisting the urge to check the time. The hall seemed ridiculously large and overstated for such a simple kid’s recital. Only a few people sat in the chairs, each respecting the others space. These were all family members who had come to give support to their own, and my half-sister and I came reluctantly. I thought things would be normal.

But suddenly it came, sliding from my gut into my throat and like a feather, tickled. My sister saw my expression. She struggled, too. I crossed my arms in front of my chest, but the harder I tried to act serious the more difficult it was to keep that belly laugh from exploding.

At first, I snorted. My half-sister sputtered. That giggle came and she giggled. In the midst of this overdone recital in the middle of the ASU campus my half-sister and I fought and lost the war against the belly laugh.

It was one of those rare family moments without guile.

Describe your laughing moment. (Inspired from “Like Therapy, Only Cheaper.”)

8 thoughts on “The Recital”

  1. A few years ago, my husband and I attended a dinner in a fancy downtown hotel. All of the big wigs were there and a few celebrities, too. In fact, one very special vocal group was there to sing. My husband and I sat at one of those round tables with lots of silverware and one too many glasses at each place. We turned our chairs to face the stage and a hush fell over the room. The music started, and all was going just fine. But as soon as the vocalists began to sing, something struck me and I could not stop laughing. I sat there in my chair and shook. And then I realized I had tears rolling down my face, which made me laugh harder. The lady next to me was not amused. But I could not stop. In the end, I had to leave the room and just stand out in the lobby and laugh out loud.

    Like

  2. In my two year old class I use to teach, we stuffed a child sized scarecrow each year with shredded paper (since I am allergic to hay). Every year I would throw some of the paper on top of a student’s head. Then a huge paper fight would occur on purpose!!!

    It always brought such laughter from me and the kids! They are always shocked at first that I was letting them make a mess. But this was one time where they always helped me clean it up, even if I struggled with clean up at other times.

    I can’t stop smiling and laughing just thinking about it.

    I will miss this teaching babies and young one year old children now.

    Like

    1. But hold on to that memory. Those are the joys that keep our heart leaning forward and a smile on our face. :o) Beautiful memory. Thanks for sharing. Hope things are going well!

      Like

  3. Ha, once that emotion erupts, it is like holding a finger to the leaking wall of a dam.

    I remember as a teen visiting with the youth group to another church and unfortunately got the laughers. As a shy kid it was very embarrassing.

    Like

      1. could have been worse, could have been in the middle of a church service, had that happen to me as a very young kid, sitting with the class for frist friday service. let me just say it never happened to me in church again,not sure about Patty.

        Like

Comments are closed.