Lesson 7: Saying Goodbye to the Ghosts of My Past

Read Isaiah 61:13

Beauty for ashes.

My eyes rested on that part of scripture. Colossians 1:19-23 reminds me of God’s love, but warns to, “…continue to believe this truth and stand in it firmly.”

The ghosts of our past would like nothing better than to tear down God’s truth and beat us down with reminders that we are horrible. It doesn’t help that some Christians expect us to hide “our dirty laundry” instead of seeking healing in honest Christian fellowship. Grace Fox says that verbalizing our pain is the first step towards healing. Beauty for ashes, scripture says, but we won’t find that beauty if we continue to hide our pain, pretending that we live the perfect Christian life. Fox also says to trust God with our pain. She says to trust your spouse with your pain.

I married Tony in 2003, and I thought I trusted him with my heart. In 2007, I broke down and for the first time, laid my burden, not just at God’s feet, but on Tony’s shoulders. For the first time in my life, I stopped trying to be strong.

Beauty for ashes.

My past has lost its sharp edges. There lurks beauty in the ashes of my past. The tragedy was a catalyst for great change in my life. 2 Corinthians 5:17-18a says, “What this means is that those who become Christians become new persons. They are not the same anymore, for the old life is gone. A new life has begun! All this newness of life is from God, who brought us back to himself through what Christ did.”

On twitter an atheist asked me why I follow God and not any of the other thousand gods in the world; If only this person understood how God has worked supernaturally in my life and the changes that have occurred, or the freedom in truth and joy in sorrow! No man-made god could have done what God has done in my life. How does one expel the ghosts from their past?

Trust in the promises of God and talk to someone you trust about your ghosts. I challenge you to begin living the transparent Christian life of 2 Corinthians 12:1-10 and confound people with the truth of your life; show God picking you up in it. Perfectionism only shows self-reliance and says to an unbeliever that you don’t need God. One day, believe it or not, you’ll thank God for the past because redemption is so cleansing and the change birthed from it is awe-inspiring. Words do not adequately explain how wonderful it is to have Christ in my life.

Question From The Lesson: How have you used your personal failures or hardships to benefit another person?

I was given a complimentary copy of this DVD & Study Guide set from the author in exchange for posting the author’s interview on my blog. This blog tour is managed by Christian Speaker Services (www.ChristianSpeakerServices.com). You can buy this DVD study here.

4 thoughts on “Lesson 7: Saying Goodbye to the Ghosts of My Past”

  1. That’s interesting that the atheist was engaging you on Twitter about following God. I think your perspective that each of our personal lives is reason enough to follow God! Without him, where would we be? I don’t want to even imagine…

    Like

  2. Confessing pain, sorrow, hurts, sin to God and then another person brings so much healing. How has God used mine? I now help in recovery ministries and have shared my story at the women’s retreat. I love how God has redeemed my abuse and used my pain.

    Like

Comments are closed.