Feed That Fire!

Campfire
Image via Wikipedia

A campfire needs continual fuel to burn away the darkness and cold of the elements. It needs stirring. What stirs me? What fuels me? How do I find the energy to work five days a week and come in on the sixth to volunteer for half a typical work day? How do I find the faith in the cold and dark if nothing burnable fuels the fire within?

Is it a question of faith, or a question of spacing out my responsibilities and my two jobs to allow for rest in between? Oftentimes, I feel like a fire trying to burn on a rain soaked log. There’s a lot of smoke that billows from a wet log as a fire weakly flares over the top of the bark. A light rain fall could douse it in a moment. If I am that weak, how can I continue to work effective? What fuels me? Is it the pleasure of compliments of a job well done or the solid belief that God is using me for something worthy? If it’s something worthy, shouldn’t I blaze like a bonfire? Shouldn’t that light that God shines through me cast away the shadows, the doubters, the nay-sayers, and the people who look for me to fail?

I don’t want my fire spent and my passion to grow cold like the white ash of the coals from the night before. Wherever God puts me I want to put forth that energy and passion, renewing myself in His Word, and stop trying to carry my own burden and that of everyone else’s. I worry too much. A friend pointed that out the other day. I expect the worst in a bad situation instead of trusting in God to handle it. I prepare for the worst and that might help me prepare for the worst, but it also stops me from truly living in the moment.

Thankful Mondays remind me of Ann’s continued commitment to living every day thankful over at A Holy Experience. My brother-in-law, Richard, greets Monday with enthusiasm, and I think he has a point. His Happy Monday statuses on Facebook become an example.

Today my fire burns bright on the fuel of God’s Word. If I cling to Him, I think I can keep this fire burning the rest of the week and into Sunday.  So I am using this verse to fuel me:

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us. – Hebrews 12:1

