The Chronicles of Church Fellowship: Household of Faith

{Written July 3, 2011}

So we must not get tired of doing good, for we will reap at the proper time if we don’t give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, we must work for the good of all, especially for those who belong to the household of faith. – Galatians 6:9-10 NIV


Don’t give up.

And this morning all I could see was failure. Like the clouds of dust obscuring the mountains so my vision became, and to my joy I arrived at church to see what God was doing in Revive at FBC Prescott. It felt like someone somewhere had suddenly turned on a giant spotlight and sent it to chase away the darkness!

It began when my friend on the prayer team had chosen the above verse. That verse spoke to and admonished my fainting heart. She said, “Do you know what household means? Oikos!”

Our church says to reach our Oikos (those ten-fifteen unsaved people in our circle of friends). Relationships are important and how we treat people reflect our faith. This was present today in the atttiudes that I witnessed, in the prayers, and in the light touching each of us.

God put volunteers in place to release me to do a prayer walk around the Revive building. I stood later in front of the Prayer Center and felt so joyous to be at church. It’s like God’s light washed away the residual resentment and discouragement of earlier and gave me peace. Suddenly, I could barely keep my feet on the ground and joy from bubbling up into my throat. There was something different today. And I learned…

Don’t give up.

We must persevere.

We can fight this apathy.

3 thoughts on “The Chronicles of Church Fellowship: Household of Faith”

Comments are closed.