The First Time

English: Home bible study with the help of a b...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In a week or two, I will join a women’s Bible study. You’d think that working in a church and having attended this church for ten years that at some point I would have joined a women’s Bible study. This is my first time.

It’s not that I didn’t want to, but when you work a full-time job, write full-time, have a husband to love, and needing down time, attending one hasn’t been a priority or available to my schedule. It’s still not convenient, but I want to attend one.

The Bible study will be on Thursdays for two hours. My boss is allowing me to make up the extra hour during the week for sixteen weeks. I can’t wait as I always hoped to make connections with other women. It’s not easy to make those connections. I’m always fighting me–the person who dreads awkward silences and struggles with distrust.

The bible study will allow me to learn and I’ve been thirsting to learn more of the Bible. I’m a meat and potatoes kind of girl who wants more than fluff, but something that my teeth can sink into–hard protein to fuel the spirit.

Chatting at The Sky, Emily, reminded me how good company is like a cup of coffee on a cold winters night. What better way to spend a Thursday afternoon than in the company of a good teacher and potential friends.

How long did it take you to attend a women’s Bible study?

