A Life of Words: @LisaNotes

Name of blog:  Lisa notes

Your name: Lisa Burgess

Your Twitter: @LisaNotes

Your Facebook: HideHisWord—my scripture memory group with Do Not Depart

NH: Why did you pick that name?

LB: Because I write to note where I see God, and my blog is the place I keep these notes. Thus, Lisa notes (“notes” working as both a verb and a noun—I should mention I’m a grammar geek, although I’ll delightfully break any grammar rule as needed).

NH: What prompted you to begin blogging?

LB: I was fascinated to discover a venue online where I could store my writings and share good things I was reading about God. I had then and still have now an inner urge to put into words things I feel strongly in my spirit. I process my thoughts better when I write them out.

NH: What kind of blogs did you first write?

LB: Short quotes from books and Bible passages, followed by a little commentary.

NH: What mistakes did you make when you first blogged?

LB: I wasn’t personal enough. I hesitated putting myself too “out there” and boring people to death with me.

NH: What was your worst blog post in the beginning?

LB: Those where I would cram too many random thoughts from my daily Bible reading into a single post, like this: http://lisanotes.blogspot.com/2008/08/pour-on-salt.html

NH: Your best?

LB: Still searching for that elusive one. I personally benefited by the posts I wrote journeying through my dad’s death and my mom’s Alzheimer’s. I pray those posts help others as well.

NH: What are your top 5 favorite blogs to read?

LB: I have so many favorites in my Google Reader. As an information junkie, many favorites are those that are gateways to even more information, such as:

Challies

Take Your Vitamin Z

The Gospel Coalition

Desiring God

For writing/blogging tips:

Copyblogger 

ProBlogger

Daily Blog Tips

And I try to keep up with all my friends’ personal blogs (too many to list!). Oops—I’m way over five.

NH: What inspires you to blog?

LB: Seeing God reveal his grace in so many wonderful ways.

NH: When do you write your posts and how long do they take?

LB: I wish I had a set schedule; maybe in my next season. For now it’s random—I usually write when I can’t hold something in any longer. It can take 30 minutes up to however much time I’ll allow myself. The goal is to keep it to an hour or less, but I always long for more.

NH: What are your favorite comments?

LB: I’m blessed when readers say they’re encouraged by what I’ve written, and when they leave encouragement for me when I write about hard times. Just a few words here and there can make such a difference.

NH: When your first comments came and they weren’t family or friends, describe that feeling.

LB: Weird! Strangers will take time to read what I say?

NH: Why do you blog now and how has that changed from your very beginnings?

LB: I started sharing thoughts mainly from other authors. But now I understand blogging connects all our stories. Our blogs become gathering spots to establish genuine friendships and to encourage each other to hope in Jesus. So I’ve grown to include more personal stories on my blog and to read my commenters’ stories on their own blogs as often as I can.

I also have favorite memes that I participate in regularly, such as Soli Deo Gloria and Spiritual Sundays, and reading challenges like What’s on Your Nightstand and Spring/Fall Reading Thing. I love the friendships that arise out of these communities.

NH: Do you have any advice for people who want to start blogs?

LB: Blogging is a great journey!

1. Start now. Don’t wait until you get everything perfect (you never will). Just pour out what you’re thinking—and feeling—and publish.

2. Be kind. Don’t say anything you wouldn’t want a particular “somebody” to read—you never know when your post may be forwarded to that very person.

3. Make it shorter. Mercilessly cut what might seem irrelevant to your readers. Stick with one main point per post.

NH: How many times a week do you post?

LB: Lately, 2-3 times a week, which is the lowest frequency since I started blogging in 2008 (I used to somehow post daily—and loved it). Ideally, I’d like to post 4-5 times a week. I hope to return to that schedule soon.

I also contribute a few posts a month at Do Not Depart. My favorites there are our scripture memory challenges (a new one will begin in August!).

NH: Are you a believer?

LB: By God’s grace, most definitely. I believe in Jesus as the Son of God and my rescuer. I am alive thanks to his mercy and am indwelled by His Spirit.

NH: Do people at your church or work know about your blog?

LB: Several of my friends tell me they read my blog, which both greatly encourages me and amazes me. I’m grateful. It also helps keep me accountable.

NH: What was your family’s reaction when you wanted to begin blogging?

LB: They had no clue (neither did I!) of how important it would become to me. Now they predict “This will become a blog post!” when we’re out and about. They accept my blog as an extension of who I am.

NH: What can we pray about for you?

LB: I never turn down answering this question! Please pray that I find and maintain a God-glorifying balance between writing, reading, and staying in the moment. If I fail to honor the Lord, I’ve wasted it all.

NH: How many hours do you social network and/or blog per week?

LB: I’m scared to count. Less than I used to, more than I need to, but I do enjoy it all. I’ve developed a love for many of my fellow-bloggers; they’re as real as the friends I see in “real” life so I like to spend time with them.

NH: How many readers do you get a month?

LB: More than I deserve. I try to avoid keeping track of the numbers.

NH: Anything else you’d like to share about your blog?

LB: I want it to be an instrument of God’s grace for all who stop in. Isn’t our journey easier when we help each other see the Lord? He gets the glory and we get a stronger faith, a win-win.

Thanks for asking, Nikki!

The purpose of this series is to show the heart behind some of the many blogs I read. Most of them might be Christian, but some of them aren’t believers. On July 19, we featured His FireFly. With all the great articles out there about social networking, building your brand, and marketing ones self in the world, I wanted to put a different spin on things. This series will make an attempt to get at the heart of the blogger. I’m not asking for submissions. So please keep your comments to prayers for Lisa, questions for her, or encouragement for her as she fulfills this calling. As Bonnie Gray once said, your comments are a gift.

21 thoughts on “A Life of Words: @LisaNotes

    • Ditto, Monica. When I started blogging, I had no idea the blessings that God had in store for me via relationships with other bloggers. It’s amazing seeing the hearts of so many Christian sisters and brothers simply through words on their blogs and comments made. Your heart for God definitely shows through.

      Like

  1. Pingback: A Life of Words: Linda Yezak @pprmint777 « Nikole Hahn's Journal

  2. I’ve been following Lisa for some time now and have grown to love her. She is very smart and does have good grammar. I love it when she opens up. Sometimes that can be scary but when we show our vulnerability so many of us identify. I’m so glad you chose to interview her here today. She’s the real deal.

    Blessings and love,
    Debbie

    Like

  3. I enjoyed this, Lisa, and I’m blessed that we can count each other friends. Your posts about your parents have helped as both of mine have passed away and my husband’s mom is in an assisted living place and gradually declining. Your posts from the Word often make me think and look at something in a new way. The very few times we’ve had a difference of opinion I’ve been blessed by the gracious way you’ve expressed yourself.

    Like

    • I’m thankful we are friends, too, Barbara. I love that I can count on you to give an honest opinion, always with kindness and humility and based on scripture. Your comments and your blog reflect that over and over.

      We do have much in common in these seasons of our lives, and now that all our children have finished high school, we’re entering yet another season together. It will be interesting to see what God has in store for us now!

      Like

  4. Hi, Lisa! I loved getting to know this part of your story. Thanks so much for linking here from your blog. I learn so much from you, friend. (Sadly, your posts often feed my to-read list, which is growing faster than I can read! I do love bookish friends.)

    Like

    • You have been such an encouragement to me, my friend. I know you’ve prayed for me through several different occasions and I value that!

      I’ll keep the book suggestions coming, too. I just can’t help myself. :-)

      Like

  5. Lisa Notes… It’s been a blessing to share a life with a sister and her family that I would have never got to know other wise. God bless.

    Like

      • Well…. Ditto, huh – to your ditto, then. Yeah… Who said I don’t have a way with words?

        Also, who said we couldn’t have fun being a little goofy? I’m pretty sure it wasn’t me!

        Like

Comments are closed.