A Life of Words: @HisFireFly

The name of my blog is Flickers of a Faithful FireFly

Your Name:  Karin Fendick

Your Twitter: @HisFireFly

Your Facebook page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Flickers-of-a-Faithful-FireFly/114779225220036

NH: Why did you pick that name? 

KF: Early on in our courtship my husband began calling me FireFly – he claims that the Lord prompted him to do so because he believes I reflect God’s light.  I fell in love with the nickname and have used it ever since.  I added “His” to become HisFireFly to share to Whom I belong, the upper case H for His but also lower case ‘h’ for Rick’s.

NH: What prompted you to begin blogging?

KF: I began my blog to record and remember our experiences in Uganda as part of a short term mission, building a home for Watoto Childcare.

NH: What kind of blogs did you first write?

KF: My early posts were taken from my Uganda journal, much like a travel log

NH: What mistakes did you make when you first blogged?

KF: I designed my blog with a black background which many found difficult to read.  I placed pictures all over the page leaving the space looking cluttered and chaotic

NH: What was your worst blog post in the beginning? Your best?

KF: I can’t pin-point the worst, they were all bad, small pictures, limited text and likely not at all interesting to anyone but my husband and myself!

One of my favorite early posts was written for the children of Gulu, Uganda.  Instead of travelogue style I released my heart.

NH: Why did you begin blogging?

KF: While I was finishing my posts on Uganda I tripped over the Christian Women Online site and links to many other blogging Christian women.  I was inspired to continue writing in this new way, sharing my faith with who ever might stumble by.

NH: What are your top 5 favorite blogs to read?

Emily Wierenga at http://www.emilywierenga.com/

Emily has a profound sense of what it means to walk broken yet redeemed in the world

Jennifer Dukes Lee at http://www.gettingdownwithjesus.com/

Jennifer shares a life lived with senses wide open to the moving of our Lord

Sandra Heska King at http://sandraheskaking.com/

Sandy has opened her heart to dive deeply into whatever places God leads her

Billy Coffey at http://www.billycoffey.com/blog/

I simply cannot resist Billy’s easy and compelling way of sharing truths through stories of the everyday

The High Calling Blogs at http://www.thehighcalling.org/

A wide variety of writers share their hearts and their craft here.

NH: What inspires you to blog?

KF: I am inspired by numerous sources – the beauty of the words of others challenges me to continue to search for my own creative stream; the comments from others who have been touched by something I shared right at the moment they needed to hear it; and there is also the burning of words within me that long for release much like Jeremiah spoke of:

“The words are fire in my belly, a burning in my bones. I’m worn out trying to hold it in. I can’t do it any longer!”  Jeremiah 20:9 The Message

NH: When do you write your posts and how long do they take?

KF: I usually write in the mornings.  Typically my posts are short, often poetry or broken prose.  Most often words come quickly or they do not come at all.

NH: What is your brand? 

KF: I haven’t paid much attention to branding.  I suppose I would be seen as a writer, a poet and a lover of Jesus.

NH: What was your worst comment? Your best?

KF: Perhaps my worst comment was on a post called Sewing Buttons where I shared a snip of a vision and word from the Lord – I received this spam comment likely due to using the word “buttons”  It was obvious to me that the post had not been read.

“Hi there. Nice blog. You have shared useful information. Keep up the good work! Your blog is really interesting and provides good details.” Garment Buttons Manufacturers

This is perhaps one of the comments I liked most, knowing that someone else needed to read the words I was prompted to post –

“Oh… did I need to hear this tonight… reflect on this tonight. You’ll never know how God used you in a mighty way for me… I am desperate to hear the Lord speak and do His will… your post spurs me on to deep listening. And your life and prayers and decisions for the future inspire! Alls’ grace”

NH: When your first comments came and they weren’t family or friends, describe that feeling.

KF: I think my first reaction was shock, I was humbled that others would actually choose to read my words and respond.  My heart did skip a few beats thinking that someone out there was paying attention.

NH: Why do you blog now and how has that changed from your very beginnings?

KF: I blog as a creative tool and outlet, to connect with other artists and encourage thirsty spirits.

I have a greater sense of audience these days but need always to remember that I am writing to please my Lord.

NH: Do you have any comments to add for people who want to start blogs? Any advice?

KF: Write. Write. Write.  There are so many bloggers that you will admire and you may covet their style and feel lost in their shadows.  Allow your own voice to emerge.  God has chosen you to say things in a way no one else can.  Trust that.

NH: How many times a week do you post?

KF: I try to post about 5 times each week, sometimes more if I have book reviews to share.  I used to worry about posting something new each and every day.  I have chosen a more relaxed approach lately.

NH: Are you a believer? If not, what religion do you believe in? If a believer, what denomination do you attend?

KF: Yes.  A solid, unashamed YES!  Jesus is the centre that my life rests on.  We currently fellowship at a Baptist church, not for specific theological or doctrinal reasons but for the love for Christ and each other we have found there.

NH: Do people at your church or work know about your blog? What is their reaction?

KF: The best answer to this is that a link to my blog has been added to the church website!

NH: What was your family’s reaction when you wanted to begin blogging?

KF: My husband, in his usual loving way gave me his full support and became my biggest fan.

NH: Did you ever write a blog that made someone feel hurt? How did you reconcile that or resolve that?

KF: I have never been told that my words hurt someone, and I pray that if there was silent pain or offense it would be brought forward to be reconciled.  Surely my intention is not to harm but to heal.

NH: What can we pray about for you?

KF: Pray that I would continue to listen to the voice of the Lord and not the call of the world.  Pray for the strength and courage to continue to be obedient to whatever He asks of me.

NH: How many hours do you social network and/or blog per week?

KF: My social networking is hindered by a scandalously slow internet connection (28k – yes.. that is “k”).  I haven’t been able to use Twitter much at all except for automated posts when a new blog publishes, and watching video blogs or listening to audio posts is impossible unless I’m on the road with hi-speed access.  I don’t want to venture a guess at how many hours I spend in front of the screen.

NH: How many readers do you get a month?

KF: As of today, blogger tells me I have 173 followers and about 2500 pages views each month.

NH: Anything else you’d like to share about your blog?

KF: Think of Flickers as a place to sit and rest awhile.  I pray that as you linger, you will hear the voice of the One Who loves you, whispering words of life and light.

The purpose of this series is to show the heart behind some of the many blogs I read. Most of them might be Christian, but some of them aren’t believers. On July 16, we featured Mama’s Empty Nest. With all the great articles out there about social networking, building your brand, and marketing ones self in the world, I wanted to put a different spin on things. This series will make an attempt to get at the heart of the blogger. I’m not asking for submissions. So please keep your comments to prayers for Karin, questions for her, or encouragement for her as she fulfills this calling. As Bonnie Gray once said, your comments are a gift.

4 thoughts on “A Life of Words: @HisFireFly

  1. Pingback: A Life of Words: @LisaNotes « Nikole Hahn's Journal

  2. Outstanding interview! So full and so deep. And I’m so touched to see my name here.

    You have shared useful information. ;)

    I especially love that there’s a link to your blog on your church’s website. Awesome!

    Like this

Comments are closed.