Book Review: Confronting Jezebel

Confronting Jezebel by Steve Sampson highlights a serious problem in life—the Jezebels who try to control other people through manipulation. While I have been exposed to the “Jezebels” in this life, I’m not ready to agree that every “Jezebel” is controlled by a demon as he asserts.

Sampson thoroughly outlines what it means to be a Jezebel or an Ahab. In one chapter, he outlines the, “Characteristics of a Jezebel.” She takes credit for everything, refuses to admit guilt, withholds information, talks in confusion, uses people to accomplish a personal agenda, volunteers for anything, lies convincingly, criticizes everyone, never gives credit or shows gratitude, etc. For anyone who has encountered a Jezebel you’ll find yourself nodding in agreement and getting drawn into his chapters. Each chapter ends with questions and a prayer. It’s a very harsh book as Sampson seeks to reveal how a Jezebel and Ahab work based on scriptures in 1 Kings. One of the claims went unsubstantiated.

In chapter seven on page 113, Sampson says, “The desire to control and dominate, if not mastered, can lead to witchcraft. Witchcraft is nothing more than illegitimately controlling the will of another person.” In my experience, the type of Jezebel spirit he describes has never led to witchcraft. In fact, what he describes can be found in a book by Dr. Cloud and Townsend called, “Boundaries.” They call what Sampson describes as a Jezebel spirit, “Narcissistic Personality Disorder.” I tried to find examples in the rest of, “Confronting Jezebel,” when this kind of disorder has led to witchcraft, but Sampson goes right into the next topic called, manipulation, then to the Ahab personality towards the end of the book. Otherwise, Sampson was very good at inserting examples and proving his point.

Stories of common family and church problems pepper the books pages; most of them extreme. While I don’t doubt demons exist or doubt their influence on some people, I am also cautious about making such claims loosely. I am not a theology student and I don’t have a degree from a seminary. I have seen and sensed things that scared me before I was saved, but my interest in this book waned about halfway through when it felt like he was repeating himself like he did on page 147. He all ready made it clear earlier in the book that Jezebels like to work their way into places of authority. There were also some grammar issues. He did succeed, however, in describing a Jezebel accurately.

A Jezebel spirit can destroy a family, a church, and friendships. Sampson is right to say we need to confront this kind of behavior. Controlling people have issues. Because of the problems above I have rated this book three stars. While he kept my attention through the first half of the book, he lost me in the second half.

*book given by publisher to review.

