Say Yes to Meaningful Activities

Ericssons Bakelittelefon 1931
Ericssons Bakelittelefon 1931 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Across the street, two dogs became entangled in each other’s leashes. The owners looked at each other and laughed. One owner went to the right and the other to the left, but the dogs did the opposite making the knot worse. That’s when my husband said, “Look! It takes two dogs to make people stop and talk to each other.”

Lori wrote a post called, “How Patient Am I?” and she said:

 “I text while in line at the store……Not a minute to be wasted. Or I take out my phone and get caught up on Words with Friends. I wonder……I remember, how would I feel now if I had to wait for that rotary dial to finish dialing that number. I hear it in my mind, and sometimes I wish I could hear it again. I remember my Grandmother’s dial was literally worn down she used it so much. She would have loved texting. The hang up. The pause. The reflecting on the call that just finished. It seems there are fewer and fewer pauses anymore. That’s why I think it’s important we set out to create them in our lives.”

It’s when she said there seems to be fewer and fewer pauses anymore that I fervently wished to have more pauses in my life. There are fewer moments lingering over a latte; fewer walks in the shade of a warm day; fewer drop-bys where one has something always on standby for that unexpected pause in the living room with friends. Everything is planned. To some degree, planning is good, but lately everyone is busy. Technology has made us impatient. Our friendships are convenient rather than meaningful.

I am discovering it takes effort to make friendships meaningful. It’s my husband’s profound comment that made me suck in my breath and think.

Two dogs caused these men to pause as they struggled to untangle their dogs’ leashes. In that pause, they struck up a conversation. Tomorrow when they walk their dogs they may remember each other, give a nod, or even stop to talk. It’s a reminder to me that we need to say no to more things and yes to meaningful activities, like to be with friends, to laugh with family, to make memories with spouses, and to extend a warm hug to someone new. If you live in a cocoon, you’ll never meet new people or leave open the door to comfort a stranger.

Say yes to meaningful activities and treat yourself to a pause.

Cite one example where you have been too busy. How can you make room for serendipity?

