Pastor Dave Droste: Heartbeat India 2012

Dear Friends and Family,

In these past months since returning from India, my heart has not been the same. I know that this has been a journey, one which began years ago when I first visited impoverished countries during my time in the Navy. The contrasts between the many blessings that I have (by virtue of my birth in this country) and those not enjoyed by most of the world caught me by surprise. Then, there was this open door to minister in India, first in 2006, and eight trips later, the open door remains open!

I used to pray for God to break my heart with what breaks His, and to give me His eyes for just one minute – but I soon realized that my puny heart just can’t take it. What I see quickly overwhelms me, and I feel like a deer in the headlights; ill-equipped to make a move. Now I pray, give me your eyes for the person in front of me, and though I still can’t bear it, I can with the help of our Holy Comforter.

I recently read that a family making $50,000 a year is in the top 1% of all the world’s earners, and that two-dollars (or less) is what more than half of the world’s population makes each day! I knew this from previous trips to India, and some months ago dropped two one-dollar coins in my pocket to remind me of this. These two coins jingle through the day, reminding me of the incredible blessings that I have and the incredible responsibility, too.

So, I mentioned that my heart has not been the same; it is more aware, more broken, and more willing! Aware of the tremendous needs around me personally and throughout the world, broken for those who Jesus considers the “least of these,” and willing to use whatever resources I have to make a difference in the lives of those God brings in front of me. My heart has never ached so much to make a difference!

I mentioned a continued open door exists for me to serve in India, and not only me, but my daughter Bethany, too. We are leading a team from FBC Prescott (our Arizona church family), and cooperating with Kensington Community in Michigan, to return September 27-October 6, 2012. We are readying ourselves to care for the orphan and the widow, teach the student, and reach the unreached for the cause of Christ. We are saving our pennies, but this will not be enough! We are looking for partners to support us financially, and prayerfully. We each need to raise nearly $3000 in order to get there to be Jesus hands and feet. Then, we need the power of our Great God to sustain and equip us to carry out the mission!

If your heart is also tender towards the “least of these” and carries the desire to make a difference, and if you are able, please respond:

Giving can be done; making a check payable to FBC Prescott, and sending it to me:

David Droste

12742 E. Garcia St

Dewey, AZ 86327

Or you may click on this link and donate to missions (please let me know if you give this way, so I can keep track J here).

Finally, this quote from the author David Platt, “God blesses his people with extravagant grace so they might extend his extravagant glory to all peoples on the earth.”

Please join Bethany and me to extend God’s wonderful grace to the people of India…one person at a time!

In Christ’s Love,

David & Bethany

