Book Review: Prize of My Heart

Though the back flap of Prize of My Heart by Lisa Norato says, “Haunted by thoughts of Lorena in peril, Brogan is compelled to choose between the boy he longs for and the woman who has captured his heart,” the story focuses more on the struggle of Captain Brogan Talvis and his past in trying to retrieve his son than of the action.

Captain Talvis buys a ship from Lorena Huntley’s father with the intention of stealing away Mr. Huntley’s adopted boy, Drew. Captain Talvis did not reveal that Drew is his biological son even as his feelings turn tender toward Mr. Huntley’s daughter, Lorena. George, a long time friend of Lorena, has many times proposed to her, but she won’t marry without love. While the story back flap suggests some sea action and deceit, the story only devotes a small portion of the novel to causing Captain Talvis to have to choose between his son and Lorena. It disappointed me not to see more of a difficult rescue with higher stakes. George was easily detained and Lorena rescued.

The real story is Captain Talvis and his ongoing struggle with trying to figure out how to do the right thing by his son. Lisa Norato’s beautiful prose is reminicent of the many Kathleen Woodiwiss novels I read, but it’s the twist at the end of the story that will make this novel memorable.

I gave this story four stars.

 *Book given by publisher to review.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Prize of My Heart

  1. Wow, your review made me want to read the book in spite of the fact I never read romance (though I do love it when my sci-fi/fantasy books have a romantic subplot).

    Like this

Comments are closed.