Israel Wanted A King

The Infant Samuel
The Infant Samuel (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

But the people refused to obey the voice of Samuel. And they said, “No! But there shall be a king over us, that we also may be like all the nations, and that our king may judge us and go out before us and fight our battles. – 1 Samuel 8:19-20

Morning devotions led me here. I’ve read 1 Samuel before, but today I stopped here. Israel didn’t trust God to judge them or fight their battles. That’s what I got from this passage.

I’m such a fixer; so much so that my actions say I think I have the werewithal to change things. I really don’t have that power. My head knows this, but my heart betrays me. In the past, I have had to force myself to sit still and let God handle things. It’s so contrary to my nature. But how else can I see God work?

So as I highlighted and shared this passage, I prayed that I would not desire to fix things–be my own king–and instead, let God judge and handle things. Afterall, He has better sight than my eyes. What appears to be suffering or pain is simply growing pains of a believer or someone who might someday become a believer. So thank you, Jesus, for talking with me this morning.

When did you try to be your own king?

4 thoughts on “Israel Wanted A King”

  1. What a beautiful painting! I wear the crown often and not well at all. It tilts, it falls off and hits my toe, and it also makes for a bad hair day once you take it off! He is the only one worthy of wearing it, but that doesn’t stop me from trying! Usually when I am trying to get people to do what I think they should! Thank you for the reminder! Lori

    Like

  2. Wonderful message Nikole. I definitely try to be my own king with relationships. Only I know what is best. Thanks for the grounding.

    Great image you selected as well–it is staring at me on our wall next to the computer.

    Like

Comments are closed.