Kristine McGuire: The Journey Begins

by Kristine McGuire

In 2007, I re-dedicated my life to Christ after having spent eight years as a witch, medium, and ghost hunter. What made my story a little different was I had been a Christian for twenty-nine years before delving into the occult. As I was trying to re-discover my life in Christ, I noticed growing interest in the paranormal in our society and in the church. I realized how many Christians were unsure what the occult is or how it can effect their lives. Even more troubling were the increasing number of Christians going to mediums and psychics, becoming ghost hunters, and a general interest in the mystical.

God placed a burden on my heart to share my story. My response was a little, self published book called Escaping the Cauldron: Ghosts and the Paranormal. My prayer was that God would use the book to reach people with the truth about ghosts, mediums, psychics, and draw people to Him.

The book was met with a modest measure of success. What amazed me was how God used the book to provide opportunities to share my story with church, youth, and women’s groups through speaking events. I was interviewed for a segment which aired on The 700 Club. Another author asked me to contribute chapters to a book he was writing about the occult. Through that conversation, I was introduced to the woman who would become my manager.

In August 2011, a new version of my book was picked up by Charisma House/Media. Escaping the Cauldron: Exposing the occult in everyday life will be published on September 4, 2012.

God is so good!

So now I have been given a national platform by which to share God’s message of grace hope for people involved in the occult. Who could have imagined such a thing would happen by taking a tiny step of faith two years ago.

My new book will share information about the occult based on my personal experiences as a witch, medium, and ghost hunter while showing how God pursued me with His love to restoration in Christ. There are verses and questions which can be discussed in a group or pondered in a personal journal. There is also a glossary of occult words to help readers better understand or recognize when they see or hear them.

Through God’s grace I’ve been given a career as a writer. In my wildest dreams I never would have believed I’d be in this place in my life. I feel so incredibly blessed.

I’ve been writing all my life so there are many projects which God has put on my heart to share with readers. Right now, I’m working on a sequel to Escaping the Cauldron. The book recounts my struggle to define what it meant to be a Christian once more, find my place in the church, and struggle with the changing spiritual climate in a post-modern society embracing mysticism. I’m also working on a novel with a supernatural, spiritual warfare theme.

It’s amazing how God works these things in our lives. One small thing leads to something so unexpected. What I’ve discovered is that life is a series of journeys. I’m so grateful to be experiencing this chance to share the words God has put on my heart. I can’t wait to see where He will lead me from here.

*To follow Kristine McGuire, click here to read her blogs. She’s a dear woman, sincere in her beliefs, and whose blogs strike at the heart.

One thought on “Kristine McGuire: The Journey Begins”

Comments are closed.