Touring Arizona Coffee Houses: Havens For Writers – “KickStand Kafe”

On a whim, my husband and I chose not to hike that day in early January, but to get into the car and drive…somewhere. He suggested a road trip. I suggested a coffee shop and combine business with pleasure. Real life community doesn’t just happen online, but in coffee shops, too. In this case, another review for my column, “Touring Arizona Coffee Houses: Havens for Writers.” In the past I have reviewed Cupper’s Coffee House and Wild Iris Cafe. To read more about these columns, click here.

Kickstand Kafe opened in 2009 and is located near downtown Flagstaff, Arizona. It’s off of Humphreys Street close to the T-intersection where one gets a choice to turn right or left towards Snowbowl. It’s larger than it looks and parking is a little challenging. In our case, the curb had several inches of snow. We couldn’t tell if it was painted red or white. Kickstand Kafe was worth the parking troubles.

When you walk inside Kickstand, immediately I could tell this place would be somewhere I would take my laptop. Emily, the assistant manager, was very welcoming.

“KickStand has always been about being a local coffee shop in the community and we strive to support other local businesses which is why our food items are predominantly handmade by local cooks.” Emily explained.

The food and pastries were eloquently displayed, and the cookies looked as if they had come from Grandma’s oven. Tony and I ordered lunch, lattes and dessert to get the full feel of the place.

He ordered a green chili burrito and I ordered free-range javalina burrito (carnitas and papas). Both of us ordered coffee drinks–caramel nonfat latte and a white chocolate mocha.

Emily says, “Our most popular food item is probably our bacon burrito. With hash browns, cheddar cheese, eggs, and bacon, it’s very tasty! Our most popular drink is probably our Sling Shot, which is a caramel and vanilla latte.”

Let’s not forget dessert. Tony couldn’t resist a cinnamon roll (warmed in the microwave) and the dark chocolate chip cookie was my choice. Emily took the trouble to warm the cookie in the microwave. On a bitterly cold day, this comfort food warmed us. But more than that, Emily’s friendly attitude made the place as welcome as my livingroom.

Some pluses with this café is the drive-through for those of us who have to have our caffeine on the run and the coffee card where every so many punches you get a free one. Kickstand Kafe also has a child’s area. That’s unique as most coffee houses do not have that option. In one of the pictures I posted, look behind my husband, Tony and you’ll see the tiny table. The wi-fi is secured. I didn’t ask for a password as I was able to get on an unsecure network nearby.

The center tables are generous and there are many areas to sit from narrow tables against and facing the windows to side tables and couches and chairs. If I lived in Flagstaff, I would probably favorite this place and Emily would frequently find me here. I think what won me over was the free-range javalina meat they used in the burrito I ordered. Being a hunter, that’s a plus for me.

Kickstand Kafe also gets involved with many charities. Emily tells me in our interview, “KickStand tries to be very involved with the community and charitable organizations by donating time and goods. Some of our organizations with which we have been involved include the Bare Aspen Ranch Wine Tasting to benefit Special Olympics, the Shadows Foundation, and Wine and Dine in the Pines to benefit Northern Arizona University athletics.”

All in all it’s a great place to write and the food is delicious. There are outlets and it’s quiet. The prices are reasonable. I give this coffee shop a thumbs-up for excellent service, atmosphere, and lattes.  If you were leading an (IN) RL 2012 gathering, Kickstand Kafe would be ideal.

Will You Pray With Me? Dear Lord, Small businesses are important to the local economy of any town and coffee shops are ideal for real life community. I pray that you help this business grow as Emily asked so that her business may continue to grow in her community. And thank you, Lord, that there are such generous businesses as Kickstand Kafe who, in spite of tough economic times, continues to give back to the community. In Jesus Name, Amen.

11 thoughts on “Touring Arizona Coffee Houses: Havens For Writers – “KickStand Kafe”

  1. Looks like a great place to write. I can see where the bacon burritos would be a hot seller.

    I have only been to Flagstaff a few times, but enjoyed the diverse climate that it offers as compared to other parts of AZ.

    Like this

    • Anything bacon in my opinion is good. Actually, Northern Arizona covers the upper half of the state with a diverse climate and then, you have the white mountains which is even more diverse and colder with lush scenery. It’s the middle that’s the triple digit heat wave. :o)

      Like this

Comments are closed.