Your Love is Enough

Sun Bible!
Image by Denis Collette...!!! via Flickr

“I know I didn’t. But I wanted to. Besides, it’s just something small.” I’m stating facts for her tender ears to hear. Then she states her own “Well, I just want you to know that you didn’t have to buy me anything. You’re love is enough.” – From http://bit.ly/bcCGHz (There is a Time)

“You don’t need to get me anything for Christmas.”  A relative said to me one year.

I don’t need to buy anything for them?  In a month, they will remind me of one more flaw in my character.  “What kind of (daughter, sister, granddaughter, niece) are you?”

“You didn’t have to buy me anything!”  Another relative giggled on a separate occasion.

Sure, I did.  If I didn’t, you would tell me that I don’t love you enough.  If I didn’t get anything, you would get angry because I forgot your birthday or anniversary yet again.

“Is that ALL we are having for dinner?”  A relative questioned one evening as I spooned some hearty soup into their bowls.

There’s a McDonald’s down the highway.

“Wow!  This is filling!”  The person later admitted.

Really?  I had no idea.

“Oh.  Um, this is nice.”  A relative unwrapped a present that I had taken care with picking out and buying.  Engraved on it was a message of love.  Immediately, she discarded it to the side.

I can see just how much you love it.

I never said to them, your love is enough. Words seemed an inadequate gift in itself.  I hungered for those words from them.

Christ’s love should have been enough, but I kept hungering after human acceptance and love.  It sent me into a dark place.  My heart had very little room for love as disappointment and anger crowded it out.  The cycle of anger and judgment continued to roll unbroken.  What I learned I passed down, and that was apparent when I became cranky with my husband.  I stopped, blinked, and said to him, “I’m sorry.  I was out of line.”  I had never seen him so offended.

Christ’s love is enough.  The blogger above wrote a beautiful illustration of simple love.  It reminds me of something Christ said in Matthew 18:3, “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of Heaven.”

Lord,

I once hungered for human praise, but now I hunger for Your praise.  Your love is enough.  You loved me enough to die on the cross.  You love me enough to patiently listen to my complaints and I love you.  Thank you.

In Jesus Name, Amen

2 thoughts on “Your Love is Enough”

Comments are closed.