Wondering Whether The Old Testament Still Counts

Book Excerpt & Discussion (Pg. 154)

Could we get a ruling about whether the Old Testament is still in play?  Seriously, could we get some sort of official with a wise-looking beard to once and for all say, “The Old Testament Still Counts?”  We don’t have that yet, which means every now and then I’ll quote something from the Old testament and a friend will go, “Yeah, but that’s Old Testament.  That’s old covenant.  Jesus changed all that.  Your argument doesn’t hold up.” 

I’ll slink off, kind of embarrassed and disappointed.  “Dang it!  I keep forgetting the Old Testament’s not official anymore, which is a shame because it’s really long. I hate to just throw out the whole section of the Bible!” 

Which is silly.  No one would ever say the whole Old Testament doesn’t count.  Clearly, Psalms is still in.  Everyone loves Psalms.  And Proverbs.  You don’t even have to be a Christian to love Proverbs–it’s just so full of great wisdom.  And most of the really fun stories are in the Old Testament.  No one wants to get rid of Jonah and the whale or David and Goliath.  And who doesn’t like to hear a minister occasionally preach some crazy, funkified sermon on the Song of Solomon? 

This is where Tony and I became confused and slightly annoyed.  I could have been reading too much into this.  Sarcasm can ultimately become misunderstood.  I believe the Old Testament still counts because it predicted Jesus’ birth.  Jesus is the new covenant, but the Old Testament is still needed.  It does not contradict the New Testament.  The stories are not mere lessons someone wrote, but a historical account.  These are accounts we can learn from and gain encouragement, too.

What are your thoughts when you read this? 

10 thoughts on “Wondering Whether The Old Testament Still Counts”

  1. Hmmm. Haven’t had this kind of stuff going around our Grace. Maybe that’s why I love it so!!!

    LOVE both God’s testaments!

    Like

  2. Update: I went onto Jonathan Acuff’s facebook page and the discussion question I asked about his views on the Old Testament was deleted. I never got an answer from him. So I am still confused.

    Like

  3. I tripped up on this excerpt for a second when I read the book. But when I re-read it I knew without a doubt that his sarcasm is so over the top that he would never be trying to convey that he believes the OT doesn’t count. I think if this had been at the very beginning of the book, it would have been a problem, but as the reader gets to know Jonathan’s style, they know he could only be kidding.

    Like

    1. Yeah, my husband and I both were and are still a bit confused. His sarcasm (and we both love sarcasm) is a bit over the top. But I’m not sure how an unbeliever or athiest would take this passage if read especially if they think from the beginning that the Bible is just a bunch of stories.

      Like

  4. It’s all a part of the history and the progression of the development of the Word. It was given to us for a reason and whether or not that reason seems important to us in the moment, at some point in time through continued study the aha moments come. Every new reading of books of the Old Testament makes me think of things a bit differently.

    It’s like a mathematician deciding to forget about the basics of multiplication tables and long division because they’re boring and he’s got a calculator–or a writer who doesn’t want to learn the basics of grammar because he is focused on writing. One might buy something that requires a great deal of assembly before usage and decide to ignore the instructions and assemble the product based on the picture alone and in the end they may end up with pieces that are left over and other pieces that don’t fit correctly. Ignoring the Old Testament would result in an improperly assembled Christian.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    Like

  5. Well, I was thinking about this just recently. I think we need the Old Testament because without it we would not fully appreciate the New Testament. People have said, “God appears angry in the Old Testament.”

    But I believe that in the Old Testament, what we’re seeing is God’s Holy and Just side. Whereas the in New Testament we’re seeing God’s Love and Compassionate side. We cannot have one without the other. We cannot accept God’s grace and forgiveness without realizing the depth of our depravity FIRST.

    The Law is to be our Teacher to bring us into New Testament era. The New Testament era is an era where we are no longer under condemnation, where our sins have been fully paid for. But we cannot appreciate the New Testament Grace until we have understood Old Testament Holiness. Does that make any sense to anyone but me? Or am I just talking in circles here? ;)

    Deb

    Like

Comments are closed.