Happy Monday (is it?)

Why does today feel so blah?  I want to run home and work on The Rose Door.  I want to sit back with a cup of coffee in my kitchen and not have a soul around to interrupt my peace.  I want to get into the zone and continue my revisions on the 28,777 words I have all ready written and finish it so I can progress forward.  Responsibility is terrible. 

 

Instead, I awoke and got ready for work.  Everything made me look fat this morning.  I drove to work irritated by the slow moving traffic and arrived at work irritated because it is Monday; for no other reason than it being Monday.  My mood improved a little once I got into a cup of yogurt and sipped a strong cup of coffee; improved very little, but not substantially enough to warrant a smile. 

 

garfield-coffee_thumbnail

(photocredit google image)

Today does not warrant even a conversation.  I may stay sequestered behind my computer while the rest take break for no other reason than to have a little “me” time.  Christians are allowed to have bad days.  We are allowed to not smile when we don’t feel like it.  We are allowed to abstain from saying, ‘good morning.’  I will not further the image that Christians always smile and always have a good attitude.  Sometimes our attitude is bad.  If you are a woman, you know what I mean—by the code of women we do not have to smile if we do not want to, and we do not have to like coming to work if we do not want to, and did I mention we are allowed to change our mind without warning or reason? 

 

Never fear this mood will pass as the coffee dribbles down into my stomach.  As the day progresses, I will make my peace with Monday.  I will accept Monday is here.  I cannot change it by scratching it out on the calendar.  I cannot change it by petitioning the US Government to ban Mondays.  I mean, if they are trying to pass legislation to ban free thought and fast food, why not ban Mondays, too? 

 

In this very hour there are more of us who hate Mondays.  I implore you to think about the 242 scriptures with the word JOY in the Bible.  Philippians 1:9-11 says, “And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless until the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ—to the glory and praise of God.”  Don’t worry.  I will not try to cheer you up.  Bathe in your bad mood.  Go ahead and frown at every person who walks past today.  Lather up on the sarcasm and selfishness.  Do you feel convicted? I feel a little convicted.  Today treat yourself to a Venti Caramel Machiatto with an extra shot of espresso.  Then, assauge your nasty mood by buying a new outfit.  I don’t know about you, but a new outfit does a world of good for a bad mood.  Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “Happy Monday (is it?)”

Comments are closed.